Prof. Geoff Coombs

AGAR Chairperson

PathWest, Fiona Stanley Hospital, Murdoch, WA

Professor Geoffrey Coombs is the Chair of Public Health at the School of Veterinary and Life Sciences, Murdoch University and the Senior Clinical Scientist for PathWest Laboratory Medicine – WA, Fiona Stanley Hospital.

Prof. Graeme Nimmo RFD

AGAR Deputy Chairperson

Pathology Queensland, Central Laboratory, Queensland

Professor Nimmo is State Director of Microbiology for Pathology Queensland and Professor at Griffith University School of Medicine. He was a founding member of AGAR, having attended the first meeting in Sydney in 1985.

Prof. Thomas Gottlieb

AGAR Secretary & Treasurer

Concord Hospital, Sydney, NSW

Professor Gottlieb is the immediate past president of the Australian Society for Antimicrobials (ASA) and past president of the Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases (ASID), and has been chair of advisory committees supervising training in Infectious Diseases and Microbiology.

Ms. Denise Daley

AGAR Scientific Officer

PathWest, Fiona Stanley Hospital, Murdoch, WA

Ms. Denise Daley has a 40 year background in medical microbiology in NSW and WA, and currently works for PathWest Laboratory Medicine – WA at Fiona Stanley Hospital in Perth. Denise has been the Australian Group for Antimicrobial Resistance (AGAR) Scientific Officer since 2011.

Prof. Peter Collignon AM

AGAR Executive Committee

The Canberra Hospital, Canberra, ACT

Professor Collignon is an Infectious Diseases physician and microbiologist at the Canberra Hospital. He is currently Executive Director of ACT Pathology. He is also a Professor at the Australian National University Medical School.

Ms. Despina Kotsanas

AGAR Executive Committee

Monash Medical Centre, Melbourne, Victoria

Ms. Despina Kotsanas is currently working as the senior scientist in the Monash Infectious Diseases department at Monash Health-Monash Medical Centre in Victoria and has been an executive committee member of Australian Group on Antimicrobial Resistance (AGAR) since 2014.

Dr. Jenny Robson

AGAR Executive Committee

Sullivan and Nicolaides Pathology, Queensland

Dr. Jenny Robson is an executive member of AGAR and infectious disease physician and microbiologist who has worked at Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology in Brisbane for the past 28 years.

Prof. Jon Iredell

AGAR Executive Committee

Westmead Hospital, Sydney, NSW

Professor Jon Iredell is Perth-born Infectious Disease Physician and Microbiologist who spends half his time at Westmead hospital in a combined Infectious Diseases/Microbiology Department and half his time in research supported by NHMRC at the University of Sydney.

Ms. Jan Bell

AGAR Scientific Advisor

University of Adelaide, SA

Ms. Jan Bell has been the Australian Group for Antimicrobial Resistance (AGAR) Scientific Advisor since 2011.